I SURRENDER ALL (EVEN IN BAD NEWS)

This month’s MRI was not the news we had been hoping for. Seems that what had been working as far as my chemo treatments with Temozolomide is no longer working and I’ve got growth in a few spots. I’m going to be going in for surgery this Friday to do what we can to treat those spots, as well as collecting a biopsy of the affected tissue so we can see what the pathology is of this new growth that is somehow different from what we’ve been treating up to this point. My oncologist says emphatically that we still have options available to us, but it’s definitely bad news.

Health update, June 17, 2024

As I share in the video, I have been meditating lately on the stories of God’s people in times of struggle, and striving to have this same posture:

Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego replied to him, “King Nebuchadnezzar, we do not need to defend ourselves before you in this matter. If we are thrown into the blazing furnace, the God we serve is able to deliver us from it, and he will deliver us from Your Majesty’s hand. But even if he does not, we want you to know, Your Majesty, that we will not serve your gods or worship the image of gold you have set up.”
Daniel 3:16-18

I believe that God is fully able to save me. He is able to deliver me from the cancer chaos monster. But even if he does not, I am going to stay faithful in worshipping him alone and believing that he is good. Please pray for me, that I remain faithful through the present test and through whatever may lie ahead. All I can do is surrender to his will, he is the Creator. I’m only here on earth because of his power, and in him all life is sustained. The words of this hymn from my first-ever post on my Monday Morning Music blog many years ago aptly reflect my choice in this moment:

All to Jesus I surrender
All to Him I freely give
I will ever love and trust Him
In His presence daily live
I surrender all

First Monday Morning Music post, Feb 2009


One Comment on “I SURRENDER ALL (EVEN IN BAD NEWS)”

  1. Bret Krueger says:

    Hey, Brian, thank you so much for sharing your updates. We’ve only met once and had a few interactions online. I’m from Minneapolis. But you’ve definitely had great impact on me as a leader in the music ministry, in my relationship with that ministry and in incorporating music into my walk with God. You’ve been on my heart so I appreciate hearing how its going. Love you brother.


Leave a comment