10,000 Reasons Medley

I was at a memorial service yesterday afternoon for a great man of God, Ralph Williams (father of Bruce Williams, congregational evangelist for the LA Church of Christ where I currently serve).  He passed on to the next life at 92 years of age, a faithful disciple of Jesus, and patriarch of a great tribe.  It was so encouraging to hear family members share about his faith.  The thing that hit me about the power of a godly life was that all of our hearts were so full, not of just how great Ralph was, but HOW GREAT GOD IS!  We closed the memorial service with a great song I’ve been loving to sing the last several months, “10,000 Reasons” by Matt Redman.   It was so awesome to lift our hearts and souls in collective praise of the amazing God we serve as we were all meditating on just how great it is to belong to him.

A few weeks ago we had a regional service with over 1,200 people in attendance – always a privilege to be together and one of my favorite things is to hear all the voices singing together.  One of the highlights was singing “10,000 Reasons,” really stripped down, just the piano and the voices.  We did it as a medley along with “God is So Good” and a bit of “Amazed”.  I wish I had captured it on video, but I tried to recreate it with this video for you.

“For all your goodness I will keep on singing…”

 

When we do the song with a full band I usually do it in G, same key as Matt Redman

10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)

Chorus
C    G    /   D   Em
C    G    /   Dsus
C    Em / C D Em
C    Dsus
C    G    /   C   D   G

Verse
C      G   /   D  Em
C      G   /    D   Em
C      G   /    D   Em (break)…
C      G   /    D   G
G…

When we do it more stripped down like in the video I do it a third lower in E

10,000 Reasons (Bless the Lord)

Chorus
A    E    /   B   C#m
A    E    /   Bsus
A    C#m / A  B   C#m
A   Bsus
A    E    /   A   B   E

Verse
A      E   /   B   C#m
A      E   /   B   C#m
A      E   /   B   C#m(break)…
A      E   /   B   E
E…


4 Comments on “10,000 Reasons Medley”

  1. rosslipp says:

    LOVE IT !!! Great job Brian ! I love the medley of songs & the feel of it all … Definitely going to borrow this 😉

    • jbriancraig says:

      Thanks Ross! Congratulations on your engagement! Long time coming but I’m sure worth the wait (like a lot of good things, I guess).

  2. Maria says:

    great Job… i don’t know if you know how much your voice and your songs mean to people. When we are down we listen to you, when we are happy we listen to you. I pray for great things for you and your family. A fan


Leave a comment