We Praise Thee O God

Happy Monday, everyone!

It was a great time worshipping God yesterday.  I was pretty consumed with putting together a pretty lengthy media presentation on our missions support for churches in the Middle East and Mexico / Central America, so it was great to have our worship team led by my friend and fellow worship-leader Joe, who did a great job.  It has been encouraging to see him grow in his heart for leading the church in praise.  As we work together with our team, this verse captures our goal:

Therefore, since we are receiving a kingdom that cannot be shaken, let us be thankful, and so worship God acceptably with reverence and awe, for our “God is a consuming fire.”  –Heb 12:28

How does the Hebrew writer define acceptable worship in this passage?  Reverence and awe.  Imagine the reverence and awe of the high priest entering the holy of holies, and yet in the new covenant WE ARE the temple (Ephesians 2:20-22).  When we gather on Sunday it should be to reflect the Lord’s glory and to collectively celebrate who God is and what he has done.  When we appropriately participate in this kind of worship, we come away inspired and renewed.  We are revived.  

I’d like to share my take on an old hymn this morning that I think appropriately both celebrates God and calls for revival, “We Praise Thee O God.”

(Youtube link: https://youtu.be/fYLTUNvu_z4)

Chord Chart:

Verse 1 &2
E / E / C#min / C#min
A / E / B / B
(repeat)

Chorus
A E / B C#min
A E / B
A E / B C#min
A B….

Verse 3 &4 (same)

Instrumental bridge
C#min / C#min
A / A
E / E
B / B

Verse 4

Chorus 3x


4 Comments on “We Praise Thee O God”

  1. Johanna says:

    Hi Brian, I would like to ask if it is possible for me to use this song with your added stanza “All glory and praise. To the God of all grace. Who has bought us and sought us and guided our ways.” for my church’s Sunday Service. I am asking because the song is not found it the CCLI (Song Select) database.

    • jbriancraig says:

      Of course – actually I didn’t write that I think it came from a hymn book or something. But feel free to use any of my songs for any Sunday service any time! Reporting to CCLI does help though so thanks for looking into that!

  2. dinocep27 says:

    Hi Brian, is it possible for me to lead this song (with your added stanza: “all glory and praise to the God of all grace…” for Sunday Service? I am asking for your permission to use it because the song is not found in CCLI (Song Select database). Looking forward to your reply. Blessings.

    • jbriancraig says:

      Of course – actually I didn’t write that I think it came from a hymn book or something. But feel free to use any of my songs for any Sunday service any time! Reporting to CCLI does help though so thanks for looking into that!


Leave a comment