Warrior for God – “The Whole World Will Know”

It was great to get up to the mountains for a couple days to join in an annual men’s retreat hosted by the AV Reach church (aka the Antelope Valley Church of Christ).  It was called “Warrior for God” and Jeff Chacon did an incredible job inspiring us.  He taught some lessons from the life of David, and one of the songs that I shared was this one I had written a while back from the story of David’s encounter with Goliath, “The Whole World Will Know.”  I love David’s confidence, faith, fight, and grit in this story:

David said to the Philistine, “You come against me with sword and spear and javelin, but I come against you in the name of the Lord Almighty, the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.  This day the Lord will deliver you into my hands, and I’ll strike you down and cut off your head. This very day I will give the carcasses of the Philistine army to the birds and the wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel.  All those gathered here will know that it is not by sword or spear that the Lord saves; for the battle is the Lord’s, and he will give all of you into our hands.” – I Sam 17:45-47

On a side note, I read a great book a while back by Malcolm Gladwell about some of David’s actual advantages in this encounter, based on his speed and expertise with his weapon.  Of course he was an underdog, but sometimes underdogs win by using unconventional means.  No matter what though, it was an epic battle that inspired generations and continues to inspire.  When we stand up for what is right, conquer fear, step out on faith to the glory of God, the whole world will be changed.  “It’s not really about me, I’m just a part of something bigger.  Someday the whole world will know.”

Hope you enjoy this new video I created.  It was fun — I’ll have to do another one of these.  The illustration took about an hour, I think, condensed into 3 1/2 minutes or so on the video.   The music recording is from my 2010 release, The Whole World will Know.  (By the way, here is an older video where I do the song live.)

Here also are the chords and lyrics of this song.  It actually works well as a congregational song — we have sung it with our church many times, great especially for a missions or David-themed service.

 

THE WHOLE WORLD WILL KNOW

You messed with the wrong God
Picked a fight you cannot win and
pretty soon the whole world will know

Got your spear and javelin
But I got the the Lord Almighty
Cut you down and the whole world will know

Oo, the whole world, the whole world
The whole world will know

Go ahead mock me
I know who wins this war and
pretty soon the whole world will know

This ain’t really about me
I’m just a part of something bigger
Someday the whole world will know

Oo, the whole world, the whole world
The whole world will know

I know all that’s behind me
Shown me what God can do
Seen the bear and the lion fall
And now this time it’s you…

 

THE WHOLE WORLD WILL KNOW

Verse

G        /    F/G     /     C/G     /   G

Chorus

G       /     F     /   C     /   G

Bridge

Eb    /   Bb    /   Ab     /  Bb

Eb    /    Bb    /   D     /   D

With the capo on the third fret…

Verse

E   /  D/E    /   A/E    /   E

Chorus

E     /   D    /    A     /   E

Bridge

C    /   G   /   F    /   G   

C    /   G   /   Bb  /   Bb

 

 



Leave a comment