Why Did My Savior Come to Earth?

“It’s beginning to look a lot like… !” I love this time of year don’t you? We had our annual regional worship service yesterday (where the four churches that normally meet separately on Sunday come together for a group of over a thousand) and we did quite a few Christmas songs. It was such a spirit of celebration as our region has seen 300% more growth this year than last – lots of people becoming Christians, lots of lives being transformed. It was moving and special to see two brothers appointed evangelists: Ruben DeAnda and Sergio Pulido. But what also made it special was the powerful time of singing we had.

This is one of the songs we sang yesterday –not really a “Christmas” song, but I like to sing it, particularly at this time of year as there is so much focus on baby Jesus. WHY did he do it? Why be born in such a humble way? If you could choose any time, any culture, any way to enter earth, why choose such a “lowly birth”, to poor parents on the run, not even IN A HOME, but in a shelter (probably a cave) for the livestock, laid in a manger (a feeding trough for animals). Why? Because of his love. Because he wanted anybody to be able to relate to him. Because he wanted to identify with you and me.

Since the children have flesh and blood, he too shared in their humanity so that by his death he might break the power of him who holds the power of death—that is, the devil— and free those who all their lives were held in slavery by their fear of death. For surely it is not angels he helps, but Abraham’s descendants. For this reason he had to be made like them, fully human in every way, in order that he might become a merciful and faithful high priest in service to God, and that he might make atonement for the sins of the people. Because he himself suffered when he was tempted, he is able to help those who are being tempted.
– Hebrews 2:14-18 (NIV)

WHY DID MY SAVIOR COME TO EARTH

Why did my Savior come to earth?
And to the humble go?
Why did he choose a lowly birth?
Because He loved me so!

He loved me so
He loved me so
He gave his precious live
For me, for me
Because He loved me so!

Why did he drink the bitter cup
Of sorrow, pain, and woe?
Why on the cross be lifted up?
Because He loved me so!

‘Till Jesus comes I’ll sing his praise
And then to glory go
And reign with him through endless days
Because He loved me so!

E     B/D#   / C#min   B    /  C#min   B    /   E
E     B/D#   / C#min   B    /    A      B   /     E

E       B        /   E         /    E      /   F#    B   (break)
E      B/D#  / C#min   B   /    A    B    /  E



Leave a comment