To Whom Shall I Go

Hello everyone and happy Monday morning! Been a long time since I published in this space but hoping to get back to regular blog postings. Lots to share. Since my last posting of 2022 I fell very ill over the holidays, turns out I had an aggressive brain tumor and I needed immediate surgery. I have been in recovery since then—radiation, which I completed, and chemotherapy, which will be ongoing. This kind of cancer is considered stage 4 and there is no cure. But I am utilizing a therapy which is my best option right now in which I wear on my head day and night and it creates an electromagnetic field which slows (or prayerfully completely stops) cancerous cell division. I am praying for many more years with my family and church, but I am also surrendered to God’s will and I trust him. Thank you so much to those of you who follow my music and ministry and who have been praying for me. It has been very encouraging, humbling, and even a little overwhelming to hear about disciples all over the world who have been praying for my progress.

As I said above I am hoping to get back to regular postings and also releasing a bunch of worship songs I had been working on over the last decade or so but had not yet been able to put out there. There are some new catchy, easy-to-sing congregational songs (which I of course have a passion for sharing) but first I want to share one that is more of a personal reflection song. I am not sure exactly when I wrote this, I have a .doc file with the lyrics from 2007 but it may have been before that. The vocals and guitars on this recording were captured in 2014 and then I just filled in the other parts recently. The words are of course based on John 6, Peter’s words to Jesus, which have always been foundational to me in times of trial (like the one I’m going through right now).

From this time many of his disciples turned back and no longer followed him.

“You do not want to leave too, do you?” Jesus asked the Twelve.

Simon Peter answered him, “Lord, to whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life. We have come to believe and to know that you are the Holy One of God.”

John 6:66-69

For whatever reason, the human experience (for now) is one of testing and trial. But thank God that we are given an eternal, enduring hope, an inheritance that can never perish, spoil or fade. We are promised not to be tested more than we can bear. And we are promised by our Lord that we will never be alone, but that he is with us always, even until the very end of the age. I certainly don’t have all the answers to life’s difficult questions, but I know and trust in He who both has the answers and in fact IS the very answer.

TO WHOM SHALL I GO

Unfolding mystery where you take me
Like the wind that blows where you please
I don’t often know how you’re making me
Only try to trust and believe
I have no life within me except for
the daily bread you give me to eat
So what you ask is what I must do, and
You give the truth that will set me free

You lift me up and bring me low
At times a fire, sometimes a glow
You have the answers, this I know
Lord to whom shall I go

There are the times when so many leave you
When times of testing come they give up
These are the times that can take me deeper
If through the storm I cling to your love
It doesn’t matter how many join me
I know you have the words I believe
Only you can transform my weakness
Through your touch my blind eyes can see

You lift me up and bring me low
At times a fire, sometimes a glow
You have the answers, this I know
O Lord to whom shall I go

When I bleed or am in need
Is when I see what I believe
When I bleed or am in need
Is when I see what you’ve done for me

You lift me up and make me soar
You never leave me wanting more
Hold my hand and take me there
Show your glory everywhere
Teach me which way I should go
Water me and I will grow
You have the answers, this I know
Lord to whom shall I go

Lord to whom shall I go


2 Comments on “To Whom Shall I Go”

  1. Paula Leigh says:

    Brian Craig – as a regular listener to your music I’m so so sorry to hear of your personal trials at present. May you truly feel carried by the prayers of the saints at this time.
    Your heart for God and love for his word are such an inspiration & encouragement to so many. I for one play your songs on my phone in my bicycle basket as I ride to work most mornings! I love singing along too! My husband & I played your recently released instrumental music as we made the long road trip home for my father’s funeral & no words could describe the pain in our hearts. As a designer, I also play your instrumental music at work to encourage those in my team. Even though I have never met you (in this life) your faith is such an encouragement to me.
    We sing so many of your songs in the Melbourne church. I particularly like “By Faith” & the saxophone solo.
    Prayers for a miraculous recovery.
    Your sister in Christ,
    Paula Leigh
    Melbourne Australia

    • jbriancraig says:

      Wow thank you so much for your message and I’m so deeply encouraged for the way God can use music to encourage others on the other side of the globe! So sorry about your loss and your pain and my God bring healing. Thanks again for the message!!


Leave a comment