Lead Me to Calvary

I love the message of this old song (others must like it also – I sell a fifty or so songs through iTunes, and over the last few years a recording I did of this song for my 2005 album “Be with Me Lord” continues to be a top-selling song.) A few of the lyrics:

“King of my life, I crown thee now”
I read something by a commentator railing against this lyric about “crowning” Jesus – as if he needs us to. But I think my own daily decision to make him my Lord and King is an important one. And I like how this lyric says it.

“Thine shall the glory be”
There is something inside me that wants to claim His glory for my own – when things go well, to take credit myself, to want the praise of men, and accolades of accomplishment. As Jesus says “apart from me you can do nothing” – all glory is to HIM.

“Lead me to Calvary”
Everything comes properly into focus at the foot of the cross, and at the empty tomb – what really matters, what really lasts, what life is really about.

“May I be willing…”
May every day be a day for him. May everything I do be in response to all He’s done for me.

LEAD ME TO CALVARY

King of my life, I crown thee now
Thine shall the glory be
Lest I forget thy thorn-crowned brow
Lead me to Calvary

Lest I forget Gethsemane
Lest I forget thy agony
Lest I forget thy love for me
Lead me to Calvary

Show me the tomb where thou was laid
Tenderly mourned and wept,
Angels in robes of light arrayed
Guarded thee whilst thou slept

Let me like Mary through the gloom
Come with a gift to thee
Show to me now the empty tomb
Lead me to Calvary

May I be willing, Lord, to bear
Daily my cross for thee
Even thy cup of grief to share
Though has borne all for me

Verse:
D / D / G / D
D / D / A / A
D / D / G / D
bmin / A / G / D

Chorus
A / A / D / D
A / A / D / D
bmin / A / G / D
bmin / A / G / D

Lead into last verse:
D / D / B / B

Last verse:
E / E / A / E
E / E / B / B
c#min / B / A / E

Chorus:
B / B / E / E
B / B / E / E
c#min / B / A / E
c#min / B / A / E


2 Comments on “Lead Me to Calvary”

  1. Bret Krueger says:

    Hey, Brian,

    I just wanted to express my gratitude for your work in everything you give us out here, the music, the teaching, and this blog. I’m the music ministry leader in Minneapolis and have been trying to soak up as much as I can over the past couple years in particular (the worship conf. in Chicago was a life-changer). Anyway, I just stumbled across your blog here and love it. Yesterday, in particular, got off to a rough start but when I scrolled down and found this post, it was exactly what I needed to get back on track. I, too, love this song, it’ll never grow old and because we’ve sung it a million times, it takes a conscious effort to keep engaged on the words. Thanks for putting this together, know you helped a brother out.

    • jbriancraig says:

      Thank you so much for your message, for taking the time to write words of specific encouragement, brother! May God bless your ministry there!!


Leave a comment