It Is Written

The phrase “new song” appears six times in the Psalms, once in Isaiah, and twice in Revelation.  One of my favorites is Psalm 40:3, “He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God.”  I love new songs!  Two of my long-time favorite bands came out with new albums this year (U2 and Coldplay) and I’ve been enjoying lots of new bands as well.  I’ve also been writing lots of new songs (working on a cheesy Christmas love song right now for a silly video we’re making as part of a Christmas production).  I love how God has designed us with a seemingly limitless capacity for new music.  Isn’t that cool?

In the spirit of new music I want to recommend some great new music by some gifted young musicians in the San Antonio church, Matt Fabilenia and Nathan Taliaferro.  There is a lot of Christian music these days that is great but all kind-of sounds the same. This is NOT that stuff. It’s different and fun.   “Windy Portraits” has amazingly lush instrumentation and beautiful piano sounds and an incredible musical build. “Live Those Songs” is like a family anthem and makes me feel proud our spiritual heritage and the songs we sing. “Promised Land” has a dance-able groove and harkens back to the old spirituals, but in a modern way. “Here With Me” is a deep and soulful prayer with a gorgeous melody. “It Is Written” is an story-based sing-along song that is bluesy and fun.  Buy these songs and support Nate and Matt’s musical work!   All proceeds support African missions.

Here’s a link to check it out…

http://nateandmattmusic.com/releases



Leave a comment