Just a Little Talk with Jesus

just-a-little-talkFeeling in a country mood this Monday after attending a friend’s weekend wedding in Pioneertown, CA. Thought I would post something today with some “twang!”

This is a teaching recording (that goes through all the vocal parts) and demo I made a few years back of a good ol’ song I grew up with in church called “Just a Little Talk with Jesus.”  I loved singing the bass part as a young man learning to sing different parts in the congregation –it’s a fun one.  As I got older I grew to appreciate the sentiment of the lyrics as well.  Whatever it is, taking it to Jesus makes all the difference.  Just last night my wife and I were discussing something, and I was wresting with emotions about it.  And just a little talk with Jesus made it right.  I felt such a burden lifted as I prayed it through with the Lord late last night and this morning.  We are promised that whatever we’re anxious about, we can present it to God (with thanksgiving), and the peace of God will guard our hearts and minds (Phil 4:6-7).

Have a great week, and God bless you all!

Just a Little Talk with Jesus – demo

Just a Little Talk with Jesus – teaching recording

JUST A LITTLE TALK WITH JESUS

I once was lost in sin but Jesus took me in
And then a little light from heaven filled my soul
It bathed my heart in love and wrote my name above
And just a little talk with Jesus made me whole

(Now let us) have a little talk with Jesus
(Let us) tell Him all about our troubles
(He will) hear our faintest cry (and He will) answer by and by
(Now when you) feel a little prayerful yearning
(As your) heart unto heaven is turning
(You will) find a little talk with Jesus makes it right (it makes it right)

Sometimes my path seems drear, without a ray of cheer
And then a cloud of doubt may hide the light of day
The mists of sins may rise and hide the starry skies
But just a little talk with Jesus clears the way

I may have doubts and fears my eyes be filled with tears
But Jesus is a Friend who watches day and night
I go to Him in prayer He knows my ev’ry care
And just a little talk with Jesus makes it right

Verse
A   / A   / D   / A
A   / A   / E   / E7
A   / A   / D   / A
F#m / E   / A D A

Chorus
A   / A   / A   / A
E   / E   / A   / A
D   / D   / A   / A
F#m / E   / A D A


2 Comments on “Just a Little Talk with Jesus”

  1. What fun, Brian! It made me smile! You could go the whole was to blue grass with a fiddle and Banjo… Loved it!


Leave a comment