The Lord Watches

Hello everyone!  I’m going to try to get back on track and post something every Monday morning.  Barish Golland, a worship leader for the church in Vancouver contacted me about this song, and I figured it would be one others would like to share.

“The Lord Watches” is one of those songs we sing but don’t really know where it came from.  (Please reply to this post if you have any info, by the way.)  I’ve heard it sung in several places with different lyrics.  I’ve included sheet music with a simple arrangement and the words we use.

Since we weren’t sure of its origins we didn’t include the song in the new songbook RCM just published.  But it’s a really simple, easy-to-sing, song that’s good for starting a worship service or devotional.  Not a deep, vertical, worshipful song.  But a great “get things going” song.  (By the way, what songs do you prefer to kick things off with?  Post a reply.)

God bless, and happy Monday!

The Lord Watches – sheet music

The Lord Watches – demo recording

THE LORD WATCHES

The Lord watches
The Lord watches
The Lord watches
The Lord watches

Amazing grace –how sweet the sound
I once was lost, but now I’m found
I once was blind, but now I see
The blood of Christ has set me free

When I’m on my knees in prayer
When I’m in the street to share
Everywhere that I will be
The Lord, He watches over me

Someday he will call me home
Someday I’ll no longer roam
And through all eternity
He’ll be watching over me


3 Comments on “The Lord Watches”

  1. Daniel Smith says:

    We usually start off with a simple acapella song that everyone can ease into when finishing conversations. We’ll repeat the verses for a little and then start vertical worship songs that are usually upbeat.

  2. Fabienne DESCOTES says:

    Hello Brian, greetings to all –

    Thank you for this new song, and for that matter, all the new songs that lead us in great and inspiring worship. I am part of a French congregation and have translated many Kingdom songs into French. Could RCM include a translation page on its website ? If this is an idea you might consider, what is the best way to go about it ? With gratitude and love in Christ.

  3. James Delosreyes says:

    Bro, what are the chords fors this song? thanks. God bless!


Leave a comment