Everything is Possible

One of my favorite passages of the Bible is Isaiah 40.  I love the way it provides a perspective of God’s power, holiness, sovereignty, and scale, especially as contrasted with the wimpy-ness and frailty of us human being weaklings.

I need that.  I need to be reminded that no matter what, anything is possible with God.  I can be negative and/or faithless sometimes.  I can be so aware of my own weaknesses.  I love how after going through all these amazing metaphors and descriptions of the awesome power of God Isaiah 40 closes with this:

27 Why do you say, O Jacob,
and complain, O Israel,
“My way is hidden from the LORD;
my cause is disregarded by my God”?
28 Do you not know?
Have you not heard?
The LORD is the everlasting God,
the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the LORD
will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
they will run and not grow weary,
they will walk and not be faint.

Why do we think God doesn’t see or know what we’re going through? Why do we think he can’t handle our wimpy little situation? Why do we always persist in trying to rely on ourselves instead of on his limitless power? Why do we so often focus on all the reasons “why not” instead of believing that “everything is possible”?

The spot where I pray has a sheer drop off, and there are some trees down below where a few hawks live. Very often when I’m praying I see these birds soaring at about eye level to me (up on my hill) as they are scanning the valley below for prey. As they glide along they seem to move so effortlessly, with just the occasional flap of their wings. I often think about the verse above in these moments — that with God I can “soar on wings like eagles”. Buoyed by his power I can soar at great heights, peacefully and gracefully (not flapping wildly like a pigeon!). I need to be reminded of that often.

Here’s a live recording of a song I wrote a wile back with lyrics based on a few of the great lines from Isaiah 40, “Everything is Possible.”

EVERYTHING IS POSSIBLE

Everything is possible
Everything is under your control
All the waters in your hand
I can’t begin to try to understand
Every nation –dust on scales
Nothing in creation can compare
Everything is possible
Everything is possible for you…

You stretch the heavens out
You are the glue
That keeps it all together
All you do
More than we can dream
come true
Everything is possible
Everything is possible for you

Who has understood your mind
Who has known the breadth of
space and time
Every star that looks the same
When it’s born you call each one by name
You sit enthroned above the earth
All its people grasshoppers in dirt
Each of us will fade away, but
Everything is possible for you…

You tend your flock like a shepherd
The lambs in your arms
Carry me close, Lord
To your heart

Everything is possible
Everything is under your control
You give the weary strength to stand
Give your power to the weakest man
We can soar on eagle’s wings
Those who hope in you
renew their strength
Everything is possible
Everything is possible for you…

Verse
E(add2)   /  E(add2)   /  Amaj7   / Amaj7
E(add2)   /  E(add2)   /  Amaj7   / (break)

Chorus
Bsus   /   A(add2)   / Bsus   /   A(add2)
Bsus   /   A(add2)   /   A(add2) /   f#min B

Bridge
C#min  /  C#min  /   A    /   A
F#min  /  F#min  /  Bsus  / B


2 Comments on “Everything is Possible”

  1. Michael Aggabao says:

    This is awesome …love…love this song, it just brings clarity on who God is..not only do you write great songs but your an incredible story teller. Im praying God will open my mind and heart to be able to write songs like this!

  2. Brian,
    Here’s my take. This song just brightened my day!


Leave a comment