Encourage My Soul

Hello all – what an amazing time with thousands of Christians worshipping God last weekend at the 2013 Southwest Christian Conference!  I will hopefully be able to post a better version of the song than the demo version I posted earlier, maybe a recording from the conference if I can get a good one.

Anyway, for this week I’m posting a few versions of the classic song we sing, “Encourage My Soul.”  I’ve had a couple people ask me for it.  Here is a demo of the straight ahead version of the song, as well as a really cool arrangement that Malcolm Turner (amazing bass player I get to work with a lot) came up with.  Chords are below.  Also if you haven’t heard Jon Austine’s version from his album “Carry Me Home” it’s the best.  Where this song came from is a mystery – a lot of us sing it but we haven’t been able to find its source (if you have any idea, let me know)!

God bless!

Encourage My Soul – demo

Encourage my soul (OC version) – recording – This is Malcolm’s version

Encourage My Soul – Jon Augustine’s version from “Carry Me Home”

Encourage My Soul – chord charts

 

Encourage My Soul (in F)

F / F / Bb / F
dmin / Bb / F / F
C / Bb / F / F
(repeat)

F / F / Bb dmin/a / gmin
F / dmin / Bb / F
(repeat)

F / F / Bb / F
F / F / Bb dmin/a / gmin
F / dmin / Bb / F

ENCOURAGE MY SOUL (in E)

“encourage my soul”
E / E / A / E
A / A / E / E
B / A / E / E
(repeat)

“The storm is passing over…”
E / E / A C#m/G / F#m
E / C#m / A / E
(repeat)

“hallelujah…”
E / E / A / E
E / E / A C#m/G / F#m
E / C#m / A / E

ENCOURAGE MY SOUL
(OC version)

G G/B / C D (repeating)

“thanks be to God”
D / C / G / G
D / C / G / G

“The storm is passing over”
G / G / C G/B / Amin
G / Emin / C / G

“Hallelelu…”
G G/B / C D (repeating)


4 Comments on “Encourage My Soul”

  1. finance says:

    Hello, I would like to subscribe for this weblog to take most recent updates,
    so where can i do it please assist.

    • jbriancraig says:

      Hey thanks for your comment – been meaning to spend some time and redesign the look and functionality of the blog – it’s been the same for a few years. I honestly am not sure how to subscribe – I know you use an RSS feeder. Anything that allows you to subscribe to an RSS feed (whatever that is). You can also find me on Facebook – jbriancraigmusic and I always put links to the posts there as well.

    • jbriancraig says:

      So I updated the blog format finally. So now you just click in the upper right hand corner to follow the blog. Thanks!

  2. jbriancraig says:

    Update – I received a comment from Dave W regarding the origins of this song! I can’t seem to locate his original comment I think it was lost in an approval bucket but here is a repost of his comment:

    A word on the source of this song. It’s a turn-of-the-century black gospel song by Rev. Charles Tindley. I was searching for the chords (Detroit mass choir version on YouTube), and along with your blog result was a full SATB arrangement at: http://www2.ucp.pt/resources/Documentos/CORO/Storm%20is%20Passing%20Over.PDF.

    Plus a history of the song at: http://www.wmea.com/cmsproxy/14/files/Storm%20CMP%20Plan%202014.pdf


Leave a comment