Let Me Rest

This year I have really meditated a lot on letting go of stress and anxiety, “casting all my worries on God,” and I think I’ve been doing better with it.  (Last fall I realized I was carrying a lot of stress and anxiety when I had a panic attack in the middle of the night, passed out, and my wife had to call 911.)  There have been some difficult things we have been going through, but I realize these are the times that can draw me even closer to God if I remain plugged in, persevere, don’t give in to sin as I battle fear, worry, and anger.  I think those are things many of us struggle with.  Next week I’m going to write about how to reduce an atmosphere of worry on Sunday mornings with your worship team, but today I wanted to share a personal song I wrote, striving to “let go of all that brings a burden,” meditating on the words of Matthew 11

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Matt 11:28-30

The context here was John the Baptist seemingly wrestling with his faith.  It appears he had different expectations of God’s plan.  Perhaps things weren’t turning out the way he had envisioned.  Jesus’ message in this context is so comforting and faith-infusing.  I used a few of the verses from this chapter (esp v. 12, 25, 28-30) for the words of this prayer:

LET ME REST
(based on Matt 11)

Let me rest within your presence, Lord
Still my soul in your embrace.
Cleanse my heart and calm my spirit, Lord
As I am calling on your holy name
I am calling on your holy name.

You say that all those who are
weary and burdened
can come to you and we’ll find rest.
You are gentle, you are
humble in spirit
I’ll follow you, I want to learn.

You hide your teaching from the
wise and learned
You show yourself to little kids.
I want to let go of all
that brings a burden.
Make me young and new again.

You chose me for a purpose;
your yoke is easy.
You give me what my soul will need.
Subject to violence in the
kingdom of heaven,
but come to you and we will live.

LET ME REST

Chorus
G… G2 / D2… A
G… G2 / D2… A
G… G2 / D2… A
Bm… A/C# / D
Bm A

Verse
Bm… A/C# / D…G
Bm… A / D
Bm… A/C# / D…G
Bm… A / D


One Comment on “Let Me Rest”

  1. Dave Lyznick says:

    I’m so touched by your story.. I personally connect deeply with the challenges in dealing with stress Brian. Can you post the chord chart? I’d love to bring this song to the Santa Clarita congregation. Thanks! Dave Lyznick


Leave a comment