A Stream in the Desert

I was reminded this week by a couple Facebook posts about a great song written by a friend of mine, Ashley Campbell (formerly Ashley Nelson) called “A Stream in the Desert.”  Ashley and I were in the same campus ministry for a time, and I helped Ashley arrange her song for the DPI song book, “Songs of the Kingdom” (it’s #215).  I was singing it on my prayer walk this morning – such great words of dependence on God (based on Psalm 63).

Here is a recording we made of the song back in 1999.  I’m also posting a back up track I made at the time (Ashley was asked to sing the song for the funeral of a brother who passed away that year).


A Stream in the Desert – recording
A Stream in the Desert – back up track recording

Here’s a great video of the church in Singapore doing the song!

I’m thirsty and hungry and longing,
But nothing on earth can fulfill.
There’s a place in my heart that is empty,
That only my God can fill.

A stream in the desert when I’m thirsty,
The richest of fare when I’m weak,
Thru’ the darkest of nights
I think only of You.
Oh, Your presence I earnestly seek.

My troubles and foes can surround me.
Then I call on Your name and I stand.
I remember Your power and glory,
And in praise I will lift up my hands.

For I’ve seen You in the sanctuary.
To Your presence my longing soul clings.
I will praise You as long
as I have life to live,
And I’ll sing in the shadow of Your wings.

If I had ev’ry passion and pleasure,
And if ease and success marked my ways,
Well, Your love still would be
so much better than life,
So my lips will keep singing Your praise.

A stream in the desert when I’m thirsty,
The richest of fare when I’m weak,
Thru’ the darkest of nights
I think only of You.
Oh, Your presence I earnestly seek.

A STREAM IN THE DESERT (in E)

Verse
emin / emin / D / bmin D
G D / C / D / E (maj)

Chorus
E A / Bsus B
E A / Bsus B
E A / B c#min
A B / E


5 Comments on “A Stream in the Desert”

  1. Ashley Campbell says:

    Thanks so much, Brian! Thanks to God for crossing our paths in such an inspiring way! Thanks for the encouraging post!
    Ashley Campbell

  2. Daniel Smith says:

    Hi Brian my name is Daniel Smith, I’m the worship director at the San Diego Mission region. We worked together a little bit for the teen winter camp 2011.

    I was trying to contact you on a few things, how would I do that? One question is what are the chords and names to the song that goes “I’m gonna praise You with my mind… gonna praise You with my spirit… gonna praise You with my mind… gonna praise You all teh time… O God hear my call”

    And I have other questions too. thank you for all your hard work

    • jbriancraig says:

      Hey bro – great job at the camp! Yeah, that song’s called “I’m Gonna Praise You.” There’s sheet music on my sheet music page (jbriancraig.com – on the right hand side, click on “sheet music”). I have a scratch recording but it’s not really great quality. My email is jbriancraig@earthlink.net. Thanks!

  3. Goodluck Uwe says:

    Dear Brian,

    I and my wife lead a family group in Surulere Region

    Your dad shared so much about you at Youth and Family Conference in Lagos, Nigeria.

    Plssssss, can you send us a copy of your music either mp3 or hard copy (DVD)

    We hope your ministry will one day take you to Nigeria.

    Thanks


Leave a comment