Why New Songs

What would life be like without new songs? I was driving with my son the other day and one of those songs came on that had been way, way, way overplayed for a couple years straight and we were both like “change the channel!” Some songs seem to never grow old, but others definitely tire out. You might be surprised to hear I get tired of my own songs, and that there are those we might not sing for several years in my congregation. (After a while they become fresh again, and its fun and nostalgic when we bust them out after a long break.)

The Bible is full of references to new songs. I just read this verse yesterday — it’s from what’s known as “Second Isaiah” (chapters 40-55) some of my absolutely favorite parts of scripture, addressed to God’s people after they have endured suffering and discipline at the hands of the Babylonians yet face a new future in the Remnant who will return to the homeland. Isaiah 42 is one of the “Servant of the Lord” passages, identified as the Remnant of Israel and ultimately finding fulfillment in Jesus Christ. But look what God says about his work in the world and our response to it:

“I am the Lord; that is my name!
I will not yield my glory to another
or my praise to idols.
See, the former things have taken place,
and new things I declare;
before they spring into being
I announce them to you.”
Sing to the Lord a new song,
his praise from the ends of the earth,
you who go down to the sea, and all that is in it,
you islands, and all who live in them.
Let the wilderness and its towns raise their voices;
let the settlements where Kedar lives rejoice.
Let the people of Sela sing for joy;
let them shout from the mountaintops.
Let them give glory to the Lord
and proclaim his praise in the islands.
The Lord will march out like a champion,
like a warrior he will stir up his zeal;
with a shout he will raise the battle cry
and will triumph over his enemies.   –  ISAIAH 42:8-13

No matter what chapter in the story of his people, God is always about NEW. New songs, new places, new things. That’s why something in our spirits connects with new songs, new messages, new ideas, new conversions. We need new songs in the church.  God does something new, and we sing a song of praise about it.

Next week – HOW New Songs. Anyone who has led worship for a while has had a new song crash and burn. Next week I’ll write a little about HOW to introduce new songs.

New Chord Charts – I realized it has been a while since I updated the chord charts page – I just uploaded a bunch of new chord charts from the last few years (plus updated a few) — here is the list of new charts I uploaded – I few are new songs of mine, others are newer songs or arrangement by other Christian artists.

I Need You – Donnie McClurkin
Soldier
Emptied All
O Come to the Altar
Reckless Love
Ven Espiritu Ven
It Is Well (Bethel)
Beneath the Waters
Hallelujah (Leonard Cohen)- Christmas version
God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
Now Behold the Lamb
Noel – Chris Tomlin and Lauren Daigle
He Shall Reign Forevermore
The First Noel – David Crowder
Joy to the World – Francesca Battistelli
O Come All Ye Faithful – Hillsong Worship
No Longer Slaves
What a Beautiful Name
Holy Spirit
I Belong
Hills and Valleys
Touch the Sky
This Is Living
You’re Worthy of My Praise
God Our Father
How Can it Be
In the Eye of the Storm
Rise
Lay it Down
Te Doy Gloria Gloria
I Wanna Grow Old with You
Higher and Higher (your love keeps lifting me)
David Danced
When the Spirit of the Lord
Blessed Assurance
Lord Reign in Me
Indescribable
Desert Song
Reach
Power of Love
Come Thou Fount
Take Me Back
Lord Your Love
The Power of Love

 


One Comment on “Why New Songs”


Leave a comment