It’s Been A While

Hey gang, sorry that its been a while since I posted something. We’ve had a busy kick off to the year with lots going on, and every member of my family has been sick at one point or another – things have just been a bit out of synch lately, but life is good!  Just returning today from a mountain retreat with teens from the SW family of ICOC churches – what a fun bunch! We had a great night of worship last night for a couple hours. So cool to hear hundreds of young people all shouting praises to God. Love the youthful zeal, faith, energy, passion – great for my soul to worship with them.

Today I wanted to post a song sent to me by a good friend of mine, Michael Aggabao. Michael and I become close years ago when I met him doing a weekly open mic night at a coffee shop as an outreach. Though he started out not sure if he believed in God or night, he would go on to become a disciple of Jesus and man of deep faith and emotional connection to God  (as you will see in this song), a great worship leader and prolific songwriter for God. I love the honesty of the song, the longing for God, the feeling we’ve all felt when we get some great time with God and say, “whew, this is good – it’s been a while!”

By the way, I’d like to request you to say a prayer for Michael’s kids.  Both his daughter and son were born with rare genetic disorders that cause them to have many health complications.  His daughter has been in the hospital the last month, and prayerfully will be able to have a bone marrow transplant soon.  Please pray for her to have as long of a life on this earth as possible — she is such a precious part of the Aggabao family.

It’s Been a While

IT’S BEEN A WHILE

It’s been awhile, it’s been so long
It’s been awhile, it’s been so long
My mind, my heart is searching
My mind, my heart is searching

Searching for you Lord
Searching for you Lord
Searching for you Lord
Searching for you Lord

It’s been awhile, its been so long
It’s been awhile, since I felt like home
My mind, my heart is longing
My mind, my heart is longing

Longing for you Lord
Longing for you Lord
Longing for you Lord
Longing for you Lord

Its been awhile, since my mind is free
It’s been awhile, since my heart can breathe
My mind, my heart is praying
My mind, my heart is praying

Praying to you Lord
Praying to you Lord
Praying to you Lord
Praying to you Lord

It’s been awhile…. since I felt like this.

intro
E-C#m-A-E

verse
E-C#m-A-E
E-C#m-A-E
B-A-B-A

chorus
E-A-E-A


4 Comments on “It’s Been A While”

  1. Michael Aggabao says:

    Brian.. Thanks for the post and prayers!! We just got home from the hospital.. Feels so good to be home..Everyone.. pls continue to pray for my kids esp. my daughter right now that she will be completely healed from leukemia and that my son will never ever have to go through what my daughter went through.. Everything is possible for those who believe.. Lord help me from unbelief!! Praying for FAITH that can move mountains!!

  2. Lauren Berry says:

    Hi Brian! I wanted to thank you so much for coming up to the winter retreat to lead worship for us teens! It was truly an amazing time getting to worship God with you and I am always inspired by your talent that you use for God’s glory and honor! Thanks again!

    Lauren
    Phoenix

    • jbriancraig says:

      Thanks very much – it was a blast being with you all – great job with everything for the retreat!

  3. GBEMI WILLIAMS says:

    Hi Bro!
    I praised God for you–having someone like you in God’s Kingdom with such a great talent. Please do not relent–God, am sure is proud of you and so I am….
    I saw your dad in Lagos Nigeria during our last Youth & Family Conference–Legacy of Faith…Please ensure you pass it On to your Chldren as well.
    I love you Bro–


Leave a comment