Hallelujah – Christmas Version

Thought I would post this tune I put together for our Christmas season worship. We love the song my friend Geoff Fawcett wrote years ago, “Hallelujah.” This is his song mixed with a bit of “Carol of the Bells” (including the 6/8 beat) and lyrics taken from “Hark the Herald Angels Sing.” The church loved it, caught on right away, and really sang out.

I love the lyrics from the first verse of Geoff’s song: “Lord we sing your praises loud / sing them to the stumbling crowd / sing of Jesus and His word / sing until the earth has heard.” Great words to meditate on this time of year!

Here is the demo version I put together for our worship team:
Hallelujah – Christmas Version

HALLELUJAH (Christmas version)

Lord, we sing your praises loud,
Sing them to the stumbling crowd,
Sing of Jesus and His word,
Sing until the earth has heard.

Hallelujah (repeating)

Hark the herald angels sing
“Glory to the newborn King!
Peace on earth and mercy mild;
God and sinners reconciled.”

Hallelujah (repeating)

Veiled in flesh the Godhead see;
Hail th’ Incarnate Deity
Pleased as Man with men to dwell
Jesus, our Emmanuel!

Hallelujah (repeating)

Mild, He lays His glory by,
Born that man no more may die,
Born to raise the sons of earth,
Born to give them second birth.

Hallelujah (repeating, three choruses)

Lord, we sing your praises loud,
Sing them to the stumbling crowd,
Sing of Jesus and His word,
Sing until the earth has heard.

emin / C / G / D (repeating)

(carol of the bells part)
emin G/D / emin/C emin/B
emin/C emin/B / amin7 emin


10 Comments on “Hallelujah – Christmas Version”

  1. Kathy Butler says:

    Love this Brian. This is one of my very favorite songs & I really enjoyed listening to this new Christmas version! Thank You!!!

  2. Kari says:

    Thanks for posting this!! we ended up doing it at our christmas service last sunday!…

  3. Natasha says:

    do you know how/where to download this song?

    • jbriancraig says:

      Just right click over the text that says “Hallelujah – Christmas Version” and you should be able to do a “save as” and save the mp3 file to your computer.

  4. Amaury De La Cruz says:

    Thanks for posting these songs! Is there an instrumental track available for this song? My ministry does not have a band yet, but I would love to sing it with the track you have created if it’s possible.

    • jbriancraig says:

      I think I could generate an instrumental track – good idea. I don’t have the material with me but I could post in in a week or two.

      • Amaury De La Cruz says:

        Hey Brian. I hope you had a great holiday. Was wondering if you were able to generate the instrumental track for this song. I would love to be able to sing it in our ministry. NP if you haven’t been able to do so. I know what it’s like to be busy, so keep doing the Lord’s work.

  5. Mark says:

    Brian, We wanted to let you know that we took this idea last year (added Clarinet and Violin) and the Church loved it. It is our #1 Christmas request this year.


Leave a comment