Everlasting God

Happy New Year!  OK so one of my new years things is to post something every Monday –cause I hear how people use the stuff I post and it helps me too.  Last year was just a really crazy year in a lot of ways, but this year I hope to just take a moment every Monday morning and post something.  Let me know via comment or message if there is anything in particular you would like to hear from me on – specific songs, worship ministry concepts, biblical stuff, songwriting, whatever.

We spent time in Isaiah in our worship service yesterday.  Particularly Isaiah 43, which I preached on – I’ve posted a quick summary of that below, in case you’d like to spend some time and do a quiet time in Isaiah 43.

Earlier in the worship service we sang “Everything is Possible,” one of my tunes I’ve shared before based on Isaiah 40, as well as “Everlasting God” which is a great worship song by Brenton Brown based on Isaiah 40:28-31).  I’ve never shared that song before so I thought I’d make a quick iPhone video for you this morning.  Also here is a teaching recording that goes through the harmony parts in case you want to use this song in your worship service.

Everlasting God – Teaching Recording

Happy New Year!

ISAIAH 43 – “A NEW THING”

1. Now
vs. 1-6
But now, this is what the Lord says—
    he who created you, Jacob,
    he who formed you, Israel…
We live in the now. There are challenges you are in right now. There are pressures you feel. Those things can be the most real to us. Financial. Health. Fear. Conflict. Guilt.
There will be challenges (water and fire – vs. 2) – but key is recognizing God’s presence in those moments.
vs.2 When you pass through the waters,
    I will be with you;
and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire,
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.

God is doing something right now. In this instant he is at work in your life. You are precious and
chosen to him. This ministry is his.

Song – “How Firm a Foundation” – based on this passage we sang later to close out the service (here is a demo recording of the song.)

2. Know
vs. 7-15
We can see but not see, hear but not hear (vs. 8) – Jesus was always saying “he who has ears let him hear.” Nothing is more important than to know God.
God is saying, “know me!” God is GOD! Apart from him there is no savior. Do you know him? How can you know him better!
What will you do this year to get to know God better?

I love reading science books about God’s design, enjoying a couple of them over vacation, love being amazed at God’s design, artistry, creativity.  Fun of working on songs over the holidays – look forward to sharing them enjoy creating, putting them all together – that’s how God feels about us.  We reflect his glory… (vs. 7) “whom I created for my glory, whom I formed and made.”

vs. 10 “You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord,
    “and my servant whom I have chosen,
so that you may know and believe me
    and understand that I am he.
Before me no god was formed,
    nor will there be one after me.

What will you do to know God better this year?

3. New
vs. 16-21
Forgetting what’s behind. Letting go of bitterness, hurts, the past.
What new thing does God want to do in your life, in this ministry

vs. 18 “Forget the former things;
    do not dwell on the past.
19 
See, I am doing a new thing!
    Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
    and streams in the wasteland.

Where do you want to be standing spiritually one year from now? Picture it!up.

Song – “New Day” (first time I’ve ever performed this song except posting it on Youtube back when I wrote it).

“Every turn of shoreline brings a bay that’s even more beautiful” – journeying through life with God, being taken to new places, both literally and figuratively.

All of this DO IT WITH GOD. He’s working in your life NOW. He wants you to KNOW him. He’s taking you somewhere NEW.


2 Comments on “Everlasting God”

  1. Mary Ann Williams says:

    Thanks Brian, for this wonderful lesson! Your songs, words, and scriptures were just what I needed. Keep the devotionals coming!


Leave a comment