Generational Opportunities and Challenges: Interview with Space Makers

SPACEMAKERS ON INSTAGRAM

Hello and happy Monday everybody!  I have spent my whole life in a family of churches known as the International Churches of Christ (ICOC).  There are some young people from a few of our congregations who have recently made a podcast called Spake Makers with a stated goal to “make space for intergenerational and hard conversations about controversial topics.”  They invited me on the podcast to share about my experience growing up in our church, and we ended up talking about quite a few different topics along the way, such as 

  • Generational challenges in our church
  • Reactionary dynamics in church structure and history
  • Bad scriptural interpretation in our past
  • Engaging culture appropriately (as Paul does in Acts 17)
  • What I appreciate about young people
  • Challenges of Covid and isolation
  • Faith vs. fear in building the church
  • Social media, new platforms of communication
  • Worship ministry and music

I went on quite a few ramblings and I might have said a thing or two that is controversial—I’d love to hear from you if you agree or disagree with anything I had to say; feel free to leave a comment or reach out.  I really love our church and feel like in many ways it a better church than its ever been as the Spirit continues to work on us.  When I talk to young people about the future it really gives me hope for the days ahead.  A wise poet once said “I believe the children are our future, teach them well and let them lead the way…”  

Space Makers on iTunes

Space Makers on Spotify


2 Comments on “Generational Opportunities and Challenges: Interview with Space Makers”

  1. Fabienne DESCOTES says:

    Listened to it on Spotify and appreciated the exchange, your godly perspective (the seeking God’s perspective) and heart. Thanks for wanting to be part of what the Spirit is working I to us as individuals and as a corporate body.
    Much love from Lyon, France
    Fabienne


Leave a comment