Magnificent

Just got back from a great weekend with the San Diego church. Friday night we did some Bible teaching, mostly learning new songs (split into SATB for part of the night), Saturday had a workshop with the worship leaders, and Sunday an awesome worship service with lots of great music. Sunday especially was so moving–seeing people hungry for deep worship, at one point I was too chocked up to sing and had to just mouth the words as I lead the group. It is always so good for my soul to connect with groups that have a passion for God and a hunger to take their worship deeper. It is so fulfilling to feel like God is using me to help others.

When I was younger I had a dream of being a rock star. I wanted to be able to perform in front of huge audiences, to hear my songs on the radio, to feel like I made an impact with my music. It’s funny how God takes your dreams and gives them back in a new package that is actually more fulfilling. Being in Keiv, Ukraine last October, hearing thousands of people singing these songs I’ve written in another language, going places like San Diego and seeing how God uses these simple songs he gives me to help people, it gives me a sense of awe and purpose. I’m not and probably never will be a rock star (thank God –I probably couldn’t have handled the spiritual environment of the music industry). I don’t even consider myself a performer. I am a worship leader. I am not the point. God is. I help people see him. I help people praise him. I can’t take any credit for any of these songs. They are God’s. He has put them in my mouth and used me as a simple tool for his purpose.

I read this in my Bible this morning,
He has given each one of us a special gift through the generosity of Christ (Eph 4:7, NLT).

We each have some gift God has given us for the edification of his church. For me, it’s songs.

On the way down to San Diego and back we were listening to U2’s new album (No Light On the Horizon). There is a song on that album that I felt expressed exactly the way I was feeling. I love the lines “I was born to sing for you / I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up / and sing whatever song you wanted me to…” I love this song. Even though it’s not mine, I decided to share it for my “Monday Morning Music” entry this week. After all, it’s not Bono’s song either.

Magnificent (U2)

I was born
I was born to be with you
In this space and time
After that and ever after I haven’t had a clue
Only to break rhyme
This foolishness can leave a heart black and blue

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love can heal such a scar

I was born
I was born to sing for you
I didn’t have a choice but to lift you up
And sing whatever song you wanted me to
I give you back my voice
From the womb my first cry, it was a joyful noise…

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love can heal such a scar

Justified till we die, you and I will magnify
The Magnificent
Magnificent

Only love, only love can leave such a mark
But only love, only love unites our hearts

Justified till we die, you and I will magnify
The Magnificent
Magnificent
Magnificent


2 Comments on “Magnificent”

  1. Justin says:

    I’m not sure there is a more profound statement that can come from a worship leader than what you have said here. Any worship leader who lives by these words is firmly rooted in his God-given purpose:

    “I am not the point. God is. I help people see him.”

    good stuff, bro. keep it up

  2. jbriancraig says:

    Thanks for the encouragement, Justin!


Leave a comment