Anchor for the Soul – Virtual Worship Team

During uncertain times and a road ahead that is unclear, it is so good to know that we have “an anchor for the soul” (Hebrews 6:19) through Christ. This has been a tough time for me and my family. I’ve been working even longer hours, and need to do a better job of setting some boundaries, as the digital world we’re operating in right now allows bleed into almost every moment of our lives. My kids have missed out on a lot (my middle child is a graduating senior and president of the school band, losing a lot of things he had thought would happen this spring). Of course we are also so blessed and grateful for our surroundings, and any difficulties can’t even compare to those who are right now losing loved ones or who are sacrificing so much on the front lines. Still, I battle anxious streams often, and mediating on thoughts such as those in this song help me “set my mind on things above and not on earthly things” (Col 3:2). This song has become one of the most popular of my congregational tunes, maybe because it ministers to others as well (see this post for more of the history of writing the song). God bless you in this time, and may listening to Betty sing this song minister to you on this Monday morning!  (Sheet music is here.)


One Comment on “Anchor for the Soul – Virtual Worship Team”

  1. julieksings says:

    Brian, Nice version and great comments! I sang your “ Faithful Witness” ( one of my favorites of your songs) on one of my livestream concerts a few weeks ago. I have meant to clip it out of the show and post it by itself you you to see…

    All that video editing and online lessons and church meet ups- boundaries are hard to set indeed!

    Blessings,

    Julie

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a comment