When We All Get to Heaven

Happy Monday, everyone!

A couple weeks ago I was asked by the family to lead the singing for Gloria Baird’s memorial service. She was an amazing hero of the faith to so many of us. What an example of joy in all circumstances! I shared at the service that it is hard to think of anyone who more consistently “reflected the Lord’s glory” (2 Cor 3:18). There is a verse where Paul talks about his ministry and he says “…and they praised God because of me” (Gal 1:24). That was how it was at the Gloria’s memorial celebration: the witness of a life well-lived, a family that put God first, a marriage devoted to serving others, even as we were celebrating Gloria, it all brought so much glory to God. At the end of my life I would love to be able to say, like Paul and like Gloria, “They praised God because of me.”

Anyway, today I wanted to share a song I stole from the Facebook live stream of the service. The family picked all the songs — ones Gloria loved and ones that reflected the right sentiment. This song represented a particularly moving moment as the words so properly reflected our gathering. Boy I wish you could have heard the voices sing!

WHEN WE ALL GET TO HEAVEN

Sing the wondrous love of Jesus
Sing His mercy and His grace.
In the mansions bright and blessed
He’ll prepare for us a place.

When we all get to heaven,
What a day of rejoicing that will be!
When we all see Jesus
We’ll sing and shout the victory.

While we walk the pilgrim pathway
Clouds will overspread the sky.
But when traveling days are over,
Not a shadow, not a sigh.

Let us then be true and faithful,
Trusting, serving every day.
Just one glimpse of Him in glory
Will the toils of life repay.



Leave a comment