New Song – New Day

Last night was a beautiful night after a long weekend (it’s been really warm here in LA –OK, no, it’s been really HOT!), and after the kids went to to bed I got to sit out on my back porch for an hour or two and just play my guitar for no reason. No event to plan, no worship service to put together, just pure therapeutic strumming. Can’t remember the last time I did that. I ended up with about 3 or 4 new song ideas. I haven’t written many new songs lately. Just been too busy with life, I think.

Then this morning I woke up and –boom, a whole new song in its entirety. It’s called “New Day”.  I realized I need new songs. They are good for my soul somehow. I love the creative process and the burst of inspiration of a new song (even if later I end up thinking it’s actually not that great a song). The Bible has something to say about new songs too…

Psalm 33:3
Sing to him a new song; play skillfully, and shout for joy.

Psalm 40:3
He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God. Many will see and fear and put their trust in the LORD.

Psalm 96:1
Sing to the LORD a new song; sing to the LORD, all the earth.

Psalm 98:1
[ A psalm. ] Sing to the LORD a new song, for he has done marvelous things; his right hand and his holy arm have worked salvation for him.

Psalm 144:9
I will sing a new song to you, O God; on the ten-stringed lyre I will make music to you

Psalm 149:1
Praise the LORD. Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise in the assembly of the saints.

Isaiah 42:10
[ Song of Praise to the Lord ] Sing to the LORD a new song, his praise from the ends of the earth, you who go down to the sea, and all that is in it, you islands, and all who live in them.

Revelation 5:9
And they sang a new song: “You are worthy to take the scroll and to open its seals, because you were slain, and with your blood you purchased men for God from every tribe and language and people and nation.

Revelation 14:3
And they sang a new song before the throne and before the four living creatures and the elders. No one could learn the song except the 144,000 who had been redeemed from the earth.

I think we all need new songs. They commemorate new changes, mourn heartache, or  chronicle what has happened and where we’ve been.  They celebrate new chapters.  For me, new songs are always about new places God is taking me. That’s what this new song is about, actually.  Check it out below. (Note: some of you may recognize a nod to the Foo Fighters in the bridge of the song.)

NEW DAY

Hear me as I pray
Too much left to say
Though I’m growing older
I can stay forever young
When I’m with you

Tears of yesterday
Quickly fade away
Every turn of shoreline
Brings a bay that’s even more
Beautiful

Every day’s a new day
Every song I sing
I can say that with you
Every day’s a new day
Ever long I stay close to you
Every day is new

Still I feel afraid
Even though you say
Perfect love will
Drive all fear away
Remind me now
No matter what

Every day’s a new day
Every song I sing
I can say that with you
Every day’s a new day
Ever long I stay close to you

Ever long I waited for you
Seemed so far away
Too dead to ever breathe again
Ever long you searched for me
You brought me to a home beside you
Never let me down
I surrender to you now

Every day’s a new day
Every song I sing
I can say that with you
Every day’s a new day
Ever long I stay close to you
Every day is new


3 Comments on “New Song – New Day”

  1. Nate Cahill (Tempe, AZ) says:

    Great song Brian. I’m a HUGE FF fan – that was a nice touch. Bro, this blog is a wonderful idea. It is just what we are looking for here in Phoenix where we recently started a worship band that practices and plays at church almost weeklynow. We are always looking for fresh ideas and this has already helped tremendously.
    We recenlty put together arrangements for Be Strong, Take Heart (220) and Hallelujah (202). We also have several songs that we’ve adapted from various sources that we’d love to share. Would you be interested in posting any of these?
    Also, I was wondering if you had considered putting together an archive of your chord charts to share on the blog, organized on some sort of list? Just a thought. Thanks for all you do to deepen our worship of God!
    -Nate

    • jbriancraig says:

      Thanks for your encouragement, Nate! Yeah, nice idea on the chord charts –it was my original plan to put a whole folder full on here. I uploaded them all but haven’t figured out how to properly display a whole batch on this wordpress platform yet. Anyway, I’ll put some time into figuring it out soon. As for posting other arrangements –yeah, would love to do it! I’m finding youtube is great because it is free and has limitless space. If you can get someone to video something you guys do, you can post the “imbed” code in a comment on here, or send me the link and I can do it. I would love for this space to become a community of resources. Thanks!

  2. Mary Ann Williams says:

    Thanks, this is an encouraging song;just what I needed, today.


Leave a comment