People Helping People

We spend this last weekend helping others in various community projects around LA (we do this annually every MLK weekend).  At the same time our hearts and prayers were with our brothers and sisters in Haiti.  Randy Jordan, the CEO of HOPE worldwide, happened to be at our local worship service, where we collected $8200 to help out.  He shared with tears an update he’d just received via text that two brothers who made a treacherous journey to reach members of our church there in Port au Prince (over 400 members, 150 still missing) had made it there just in time as the disciples’ food and supplies were running out.  This song is dedicated to HOPE worldwide and to all who give their “time and heart away” in helping others. Feel free to download and share this song.

This is the latest recording of the song
People Helping People – acoustic version

This is the original recording that was on my “Rocks and Trees” album several years back
People Helping People

PEOPLE HELPING PEOPLE

Celebrate the volunteer, who
With hours late, with sweat and tears
Strives to make a difference here
Where we’re living
With a hand to help someone
We have a chance to one by one
Make this land a better one
By what we’re giving
And what we give will in time
One by one multiply
Spreading HOPE worldwide

People helping people
It’s the way things ought to be
Spreading the HOPE we have around us
Building a peace and harmony
People helping people
It’s the way things ought to be
Come on and join us in the chorus
Giving our love to those around us
Spreading hope

The sun will shine; the rain won’t stay
Eyes now blind will see today
I’ll give my time and heart away
And we’ll be better
Won’t you help me sing the song
Won’t you tell me of the wrongs
The pains you’ve felt that must be gone
And we’ll sing together
And each wrong will in time
Turn into something that’s right
Spreading HOPE worldwide

People helping people
It’s the way things ought to be
Spreading the HOPE we have around us
Building a peace and harmony
People helping people
It’s the way things ought to be
Come on and join us in the chorus
Giving our love to those around us
Spreading hope

You don’t have to look far
You don’t have to look long
To find someone in need
Or something that is really wrong
Someone who’s lonely
If only we would take the time
Give our mind, start the climb
Help our neighbor not to slide
Together we’d be better
Nothing will break the ties
That hold the world together
Spreading HOPE worldwide
And what we give will in time
One by one multiply
Spreading HOPE worldwide

Chord Chart:

Intro:
G / D / C / D

Verse:
G / D / C / D
G / D / C / D
amin emin / D / amin emin / C(add 2)

Chorus:
G / D / bmin / C
G / D / bmin / C

Verse 2 (same as above)
Chorus (same as above)

Rap: emin / C/e (repeating)

Prechorus:
amin emin / D / amin emin / C(add 2)

Chorus
Vocal only Chorus twice
Modulated Chorus twice:
A / E / c#min / D
A / E / c#min / D


25 Comments on “People Helping People”

  1. Michael Aggabao says:

    I love the acoustic version bro..thanks

  2. Doug Lovgren says:

    Great stuff Brian….. I appreciate how the Spirit is working in your life. Much love and appreciation.
    Your Brother,
    Doug

  3. Esteban Briones says:

    Just marvelous! thanks for your inspiration.

  4. Brian,

    I Love this song! My name is Trish Torline and I teach band at Conkwright Middle School in Winchester, Ky. I am also a Christian Artist.
    The purpose of this post is this … to raise money for our band program we hold a dinner theatre in which the kids perform as well as serve our guests. Our theme this year is “i am second”. “People Helping People” is perfect for the event. I wrote the song for the closer and would like to use this as the opener. Do you have tracks available? I have several kids that sing as well as one who raps. I really would love to do this. Happy to pay for the track and support your ministry. Please contact me at Tat129@aol.com or 859-556-0353.

    I look forward to hearing from you!

    Trish

    • jbriancraig says:

      That’s great – feel free to use it. I used to have a track, but it’s not on my computer now; I’ll have to do some digging. I will email you some sheet music I have for harmonies on the chorus. No need to pay, maybe you can just promote my music a little 🙂 – people can search for j brian craig on iTunes or get my albums on cdbaby.com http://www.cdbaby.com/Artist/JBrianCraig

  5. I LOVE IT! I will listen often and put on my blog site. Petrina

  6. We used that song in our Day on HOPE video for Metro L.A.

  7. Ricky says:

    Really loves acoustic version bro…. It is such a beautiful song and I really loves this songs…

    Regards from KL Church ^^

  8. Angie Gursoy says:

    I LOOOOOVE the acoustic version!!!! You’re so awesome.
    Love, your sister 🙂 🙂 🙂

  9. Serge says:

    Men!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It is incredibly awesome. the beats, melody…wow!!!!!!!
    But most importantantly the message and the reason of that song touched my heart. Keep it up bro. I always check the news about our brothers and sisters in Haiti, and I am with you in prayer for them.

    Thank you for the song

  10. Elmer says:

    awesome song bro, keep it up, your inspiring a lot of people around the globe. from your bro and sis in Tacloban Church – Philippines

  11. eva says:

    thank you bro, regards from Eva, Albania Church of Christ

  12. Javilla, Guma says:

    It is my singular honour to thank all the people of good will that have come up to extend all forms of assistance to bring hope to the Peole of Haiti. In Uganda, through the ministry of Foreign affairs accounts have been opened to raise funds to help the people of Haiti. It is my distinct pleasure to thank those who are positively responding. Through people, for the people, people can help people. Thanks Hopeworldwide for bringing differences in peoples lives.

  13. Monica says:

    Finding this song is just more proof that things do come to us when we need it. Our local chapter of “Rebuilding Together” (formerly Christmas in April) just held their community event for the19th year. I will be using your wonderful song for a portion of the video. Thank you for this wonderful message or recognition to those who often seem to get overlooked. Especially in music.

    • jbriancraig says:

      That is really cool you found the song and it works well for your project. I hope it goes well!

  14. Bud says:

    Hello Brian,

    First of all let me just say thank you for being such a true warrior for God’s Kingdom and touching the lives of so many. I was just turned on to your People Helping People song after returning from a convention from a new company named…People Helping People, Inc.! I only wish I would have learned about this amazing song earlier, because I would have loved to have you participate in our convention and our worship service on Sunday. We had nearly 2,000 at our pre-launch event and I would venture to say everyone who heard you sing that song would have bought a CD from you! We are planning to have our official launch in just a few months and anticipate over 5,000 to attend that event. How would I go about contacting you to see if you would be willing and able to sing at a Cororate event? Thanks for your time and all you do.

  15. Crystal says:

    I am a volunteer and the videographer for a charity called “Unity, A Journey of Hope”. We grant wishes for adults living with terminal illnesses. I am getting ready to make a video about some of the businesses that donated their talents and/or items to help us grant a wish to a man living with end stage liver disease. He wanted to give his wife the wedding that she always wanted. We were able to put together a full wedding (suits, dress, food, church, band, decorations…etc) in just 2 weeks because of the number of people and business that stepped up to help out.

    Although a majority of the video is going to be interviews with video’s of the event and most of the song would be background music used to emphasis the message. I have been looking for a song that would give the video that extra boost. I was wondering if you would allow me to use this song for this video and perhaps, a music video (sometime in the future) about the volunteers. I would give you full credit for the music.

    If you would like to see more about us, you can see us online at http://www.unityajouneyofhope.org. And if you want to see the style that I will be going for in this current video I am working on, the first video with interviews of the family is here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ibNHHOlbFfc. Please let me know. Thank you so much for your time and for writing such a great song that just says it all. 🙂

  16. Awesome Music…

    […]People Helping People « Monday Morning Music[…]…

  17. Sherry says:

    Love your song Brian. Our church mission team just got back from doing mission work in Eastern Kentucky and we put together a presentation with our own pictures for the congregation and we were wondering if we could use your song. We would most certainly give credit. Thanks Sherry

  18. Kathy says:

    Hi Brian!
    I emailed you the other day regarding ‘People Helping People’ and our PADS (homeless shelter) benefit. You had indicated you didn’t have a copy of the sheet music for this song. Would you by chance have a copy of this song in a MIDI format? I use the clavinova at our church to play many things and I could control things in this song better for our group to sing.
    Let me know please!

    Thanks!

    Kathy

    • jbriancraig says:

      Sorry, I don’t. It was all done live. I could mix down a back up track, but that would just take some time to get it done. Let me know if that would be helpful. God bless!


Leave a comment