Praise the Lord O My Soul – story behind the song

Happy Monday!  We had a great time camping this past weekend with our local church congregation.  It was awesome to get out into nature –always helps me to connect.  Did a little song writing, and had some great hiking, singing, and fellowship with other disciples. Being out there often makes me think of David out watching the sheep or on the run from Saul, writing some of the Psalms we love.  Psalm 103 is one of them, where David is speaking to his own soul, getting himself back on track by meditating on how great God is and how great it is to belong to him.  “Praise the Lord O my soul, all my inmost being praise his Holy name.  Praise the Lord O my soul, and forget not all his benefits…”

I posted this song a while back, along with a homemade video I did of the song.  But I thought I would post it again because I was asked to share the story behind the song for an event some disciples in Africa were doing.      Hope your soul gains encouragement from David’s meditation!

Youtube link – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42adI1f61OQ



Leave a comment