Home with You

home-001Hello and happy Monday!

Wanted to share an upbeat song from my new album we have been singing at our men’s midweeks lately and having a fun time with.  It’s a song I wrote quite a few years ago as an a capella hymn (and it works well with SATB voicing only–see sheet music below).  Last spring when I was putting things together for the album I thought it would be fun to do a band version.  My friend Peter Wade played drums and I did all the other parts.  When I was tracking instruments I took a bit of inspiration for the groove from another song.  Can anybody guess what it is?  Add a comment if so!

Home with You – sheet music with chord charts

Home With You audio file

HOME WITH YOU

Life’s evening sun
Is sinking lower and lower
We’re gunna cross over
Take us home with you
Tomorrow comes
We’ll be caught up in the air
We’ll be with our savior
Take us home with you

This world’s not our home
We’re just passing through
Tomorrow you’ll carry us
Home with you, and
We’ll never give up
Till we’ve reached the end
And you will welcome us in…

This world will have trouble
And fears and sighs
But home up in heaven
We’ll never cry, and
Each day we can grow
Through what you allow
To strengthen us in our faith…

This world has a curse
And it’s dying slow
In every direction
The demons go, but
We all have a mission
To spread the Truth
That those who seek you will find…

This world says to follow
The easy way
But we choose to live by
The things you say, and
Your Spirit will give us
The strength we need
To never give up the fight…



Leave a comment