My Hope is Built

Good morning everyone! We’ve just had our third in-person worship service in a row, which has been great, and I got to attend an outdoor dinner party with no masks (everyone was vaccinated) last week. But we are still a looooong way off from being back to normal (and who knows what “normal” will even look like going forward). Even as we get back a few of the things we lost I know a lot of us are still pretty shell-shocked from the last year, maybe grieving, maybe our world has been pretty rocked in one way or another. I am so very thankful for my grounding faith, my hope in the enduring word of God and the Lordship of Jesus Christ. Here’s a great old hymn with this sentiment, and a recording I made with my version of it back in 2012.

By the way I love new takes on old hymns, and I have about an album’s worth of them I plan to release this year. If you have a favorite new version of an old hymn, or even just a hymn you’d like to plug in general, please add a comment below.

MY HOPE IS BUILT

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name

On Christ the solid rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand
All other ground is sinking sand

When darkness veils his lovely face,
I rest on his unchanging grace
In every high and stormy gale
My anchor holds within the veil

His oath, his covenant, his blood,
Support me in the ‘whelming flood
When all around my soul gives way
He then is all my hope and stay

When he shall come with trumpet sound
O may I then in him be found
Dressed in his righteousness alone
Faultless to stand before the throne

E   /   Bsus   /   A(add2)   /  A   E

E   /   Bsus   /   A(add2)   /  A   E

E   /   A(add9)   /  c#min   /  Bsus

A(add2)    (break)



Leave a comment